Writing Can Be Murder

April 2, 2008

Smells like…?

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 5:25 am

The other day when I stepped into the elevator of my building, I was struck by how strongly a smell can affect a person.

There was no one in the little metal box, but I knew my neighbor who lives down the hall had recently been in the elevator because it still reeked of his cologne. I did a little mental rant about people who seem to bathe in cologne and perfume, and then I got to thinking that it’s just the sort of thing the villian in my WIP would do.

 Suddenly I started wondering how different characters would react to smelling this man’s cologne. Would it frighten them? Anger them? Would they fail to register the stench, and end up walking into a dangerous situation?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

