Writing Can Be Murder

December 1, 2008

Creating victims

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 8:24 pm

JT Ellison has an interesting post up at Murderati http://www.murderati.typepad.com/ about creating victims and creating the families of victims (who of course in turn are victims themselves).

It was posted on 11/28 under the heading “I Am So Thankful” so you’ll have to scroll down the page a bit. Sorry, but I just got around to reading it today.

I have difficulty creating well-rounded, sympathetic victims because they aren’t active. That makes them difficult to make them multi-dimensional (at least until they’ve been victimized). They usually don’t know what’s coming, and so they just don’t do all that much. Does anyone else have that problem?

I’m guessing: NO!

1 Comment »

  1. Maybe its the four hours of sleep plus caffeine, but I somewhat fail to comprehend this problem… I suppose I should, seeing as not even half-way through my story, my main character’s wife dies in a botched assassination attempt (It was supposed to be him, but power hunger and lust makes murderer go crazy/unobservant). Soooo I should probably learn about victims and all that… Though it may just not be a problem for me because he’s based off of someone I know in real life, so I just imagine how /he/ would act. Je ne sais pas. But I should probably give that post a read anyway… … After exams x_X *Returns to studying*

    Comment by Karen — December 1, 2008 @ 10:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

