Writing Can Be Murder

May 15, 2009

Messy Desk

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 6:06 pm

My dear southern fried friend Laura tells the story about how she once missed a workshop she was planning on attending because the flier was lost somewhere in the piles of paper on her desk. It’s a particularly amusing because the workshop was called something like, “How to find your desk”.

Yesterday I spent hours at my desk inputting changes and corrections. I got up to answer the phone, came back into the office, and actually saw the disaster I’d created. Paper was everywhere. Not only could I not see my desktop, but a good deal of the floor was blanketed in manuscript pages. Notes covered the couch (Dog of Death was not happy about this and had knocked some out of his way) and books jutted out like icebergs ready to sink an unsuspecting Titanic.

I cringed at the mess, but at the same time it made me happy because it meant I’d been productive.

Do YOU have a messy desk?

1 Comment »

  1. Piles of stuff to do accumulate on my desk all the time. One of the reasons I wanted a smaller desk, was so I would at least end up with smaller piles.

    I put ms pages on the floor too when I’m working, and I pile the recyclable paper on the floor, and sometimes the things that need to be filed. The cats like to slide through the piles or sleep on them.

    Comment by Jennifer Colgan — May 16, 2009 @ 4:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

