Writing Can Be Murder

October 15, 2009

Full-blown panic

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 10:34 pm

There comes a point in every book when I know, I absolutely know, that I can’t possibly finish it. (Usually this point is around the middle and pretty much every scene after that.)

I’m convinced I don’t know what I’m doing. That I was crazy to think I could do it. There is no way, no how, I am ever going to get to “the end”.

The solution to that is to plant my butt in the chair and push, push, push on through. Usually I’m pleasantly surprised at the end.

As I look out my window at the SNOW BLOWING SIDEWAYS I find myself thinking that I can’t complete this half marathon. There’s a freakin’ Nor’Easter blowing up the coast. 13.1 miles under optimuim conditions is challenging, but now it’s gonna be cold and wet and windy.

And I’m pissed. I worked so hard to be ready for this. 20 weeks of training and Mother Nature decides to get cute? Screw her!

I’ve got a t-shirt which says, “Dead Last Finish beats Did Not Finish which greatly trumps Did Not Start” on one side and “Have the Courage to Start” on the other.

I’m going to step up to that starting line on Sunday (which is the equivalent of planting my butt in the chair) and I’m going to finish. I may be dead last, but I won’t have given up.

(I hope)

1 Comment »

  1. Mother Nature is a sneaky biotch. But you’ll show her. You’re going to rock that marathon.

    Comment by Jennifer Colgan — October 16, 2009 @ 3:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

