Writing Can Be Murder

January 13, 2010

Reading and Watching Wednesday, 1/13/10

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 7:37 pm

First, I want to address a question I rec’d from a couple people about last Wednesday’s post. Yes, I read the newspaper every day. I don’t read the sports section. I don’t read the classifieds. I do skim the obits and the business section. I usually read the rest.

Okay, now back to the regularly scheduled programming:

This week I read: ANGELS AND AGES: A short book about Darwin, Lincoln, and Modern Life by Adam Gopnick. Did you know that Lincoln and Darwin were born on the same day, only hours apart? In this book, Mr. Gopnik attempts to find parallels btwn these two men while illustrating their impact on the modern Western world. Personally, I enjoyed the sections about Darwin (perhaps because I’m less familiar with him) much more.

I also read: The Local News by Miriam Gershow. I’m putting this novel on my recommend list. It’s a great study of how siblings define one another. In this case, 16-year-old Lydia is defined as much by her older brother’s absence (he’s disappeared) as his presence. Raw and unflinching, it illustrates how a single event can change lives.

I’m still reading: The Help. The jury’s still out on this one.

WATCHED — Watched the end of Season 2 of Dexter (YAWN). Planning on watching Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang soon.

SOOOO…did you read or watch anything interesting this week?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

