Writing Can Be Murder

March 9, 2010

Knowing the impossible is doable? Priceless

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 2:30 am

So I’ve been signed up to do a half marathon the first weekend of May since November or December. I chose it because it’s not too far away, the timing was convenient, and it’s supposed to be flat. (After the Nor’Easter debacle that dominated my first half marathon in October, I thought I’d do one that’s more “enjoyable”.)

Then a couple of weeks ago I found out that there’s going to be a half in my backyard…not literally, but the start is only 20 minutes from home and it runs thru MY park, the one where I do the majority of my long training runs.

So being insane, I signed up for that one too…despite the fact it’s only two weeks after the other one I’m planning on doing. It’s insane to do two within two weeks because basically you’re supposed to take a day off for every mile of race, so 13 days equals 13 days of rest (or at the very least very easy days of exercise). These half marathons are 14 days apart.

I started to worry that my plan would be impossible to carry out. (My plan is not grand. I’m resigned to the fact I’ll end up dead last in the second half marathon…I just want to finish it.)

Today I had to do seven miles, so this weekend I drafted Long Suffering (who was very kind to indulge my request) to drive me around the local half marathon route (it’s a double loop course, so a single 6.5 mile loop fit in perfectly with this week’s training schedule). I wrote down notes for every single turn (did I mention that I somehow managed to get lost during October’s half marathon and ended up doing 13.8 miles instead of 13.1? … I have the world’s worst sense of direction) and brought my little piece of paper along with me on today’s run.

This course is not flat (the organizers say it is, but they lied!) so I wanted to see how bad it would be. It wasn’t bad at all, although I expect the stink of horse manure will bother me a lot more in May than it did today with the ground still snow-covered.

I’m no longer worried that I’ve chosen to take on an impossible task, I know it’s doable. Now I’m just worried about how ugly it’ll be….

2 Comments »

  1. That is awesome, my friend! Good luck with both races!

    Once I get the jogging stroller and after your races, maybe AW and I can join you one day for a ‘fun’ walk/run in the park.

    Comment by Cyndi — March 9, 2010 @ 6:08 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks, Cyndi! It would be fun to go with you and AW some time!

    Comment by love2wryte — March 9, 2010 @ 6:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

