Writing Can Be Murder

July 30, 2010

I love it!! now change it

Filed under: Uncategorized — love2wryte @ 7:02 pm

This week my Southern Sister (not my real sister, but she’s really Southern) got a glimpse into a world I know all too well, a hellish world fraught with fear and self-doubt.

Being the incredibly supportive friend I am, I laughed at her.

Southern Sister is an incredibly talented nature photographer. For a while now I’ve been encouraging her to sell her stuff and she’s begun to do so. Perhaps I should have done a better job about warning her of the pitfalls of the intersection of art and commerce….

For the first time someone has asked her to “revise” her work and, understandably, she was a bit freaked out by the prospect.

This was when I laughed at her (as someone stuck in requested revision hell, I was delighted that someone else was feeling just as miserable) but then, because I value her friendship I tried to point out the positive side of things. The store owner who asked for the changes really likes her work and wants to carry it in the store.

And that’s the lesson to be learned when someone asks you to change something….they like the base product…they’re just asking for some finetuning.

How do you feel when someone asks you to change/fix/correct/revise your work?

1 Comment »

  1. First, I feel stabbed in the gut. How can you not immediately recognize and be in awe of the sheer perfection of my work? Then I agonize over whether the suggestions have merit. If I decide they do, I make the changes, feeling a little depressed the entire time. Then when it’s all done, I feel pretty good, because the work is usually stronger. It’s an awful rollercoaster, really.

    Comment by Jenny — July 31, 2010 @ 12:32 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

